21 November 1954

The People’s Action Party (PAP) inaugurated at the Victoria Memorial Hall. The Party had 14 founder members. They were Messrs: Lee Kuan Yew, Toh Chin Chye, Samad Ismail, Lee Gek Seng, Fong Swee Suan, Mofradi bin Haji Mohamed Noor, P Govindasamy, Ismail Rahim, A K Karuppiah, S Rajaratnam, C V Devan Nair, Tann Wee Keng, Tann Wee Tiong and Chan Chiaw Thor.

2 April 1955

First local elections held. PAP Secretary General Lee Kuan Yew contests Tanjong Pagar and wins with two others. Lee Kuan Yew becomes leader of the Opposition

May 1956

PAP takes part in the First All-Party Constitutional Mission to London, led by Chief Minister David Marshall

May 1957

PAP takes part in Second All-Party Constitutional Mission to London led by Chief Minister Lim Yew Hock

31 August 1957

Federation of Malaya becomes independent

December 1957

PAP wins 13 seats in the City Council election

May 1958

PAP takes part in Second All-Party Constitutional Mission to London. Constitution for a self-governing Singapore agreed

May 1959

PAP wins 43 out of 51 seats in general election under the new constitution

5 June 1959

Lee Kuan Yew sworn in as self-governing Singapore’s first Prime Minister.

February 1960

Housing and Development Board established

July 1960

People’s Association established

July 1961

PAP survives motion of confidence vote in Legislative Assembly

August 1961

Thirteen pro-communist PAP assemblymen broke off from PAP to form Barisan Sosialis

September 1961

Lee Kuan Yew gives series of radio talks, “Battle for Merger,” to expose communist conspiracy and to urge support for merger with Malaysia

September 1962

Singaporeans vote for merger with Malaysia in referendum

February 1963

Communist operatives and supporters detained under Operation Coldstore

31 August 1963

Singapore declares independence ahead of the formation of Malaysia

21 September 1963

PAP wins general election

16 September 1963

Malaysia formed comprising Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak and Sabah. Indonesia mounts “Confrontation” against Malaysia

21 July 1964

Communal riots in Singapore

September 1964

Second outbreak of communal riots

July 1965

Malaysia decides Singapore should leave the Federation

9 August 1965

Singapore separates from Malaysia and becomes an independent nation

November 1990

Lee Kuan Yew steps down as Prime Minister. Goh Chok Tong becomes Prime Minister

August 2004

Lee Hsien Loong becomes Prime Minister

17 April 2011

  • YP 25th anniversary
  • Launch of Party Manifesto for GE2011: Securing our future together

02 May 2011

General Elections 2011
  • PAP won with a majority of 60.1%

7 November 2014

People’s Action Party published a book entitled PAP60, Forward Together. It was launched on Nov 7 2014, at the Victoria Concert Hall

23 March 2015

Founding Secretary General and Prime Minister of Singapore,
Mr Lee Kuan Yew passes away

11 September 2015

General Elections 2015
  • PAP won with a majority of 69.86%
Click here to follow the gallery