Major step in leadership succession
PUBLISHED ON 24 Apr 2019
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced changes to the Cabinet on 23 April 2019, with Minister Heng Swee Keat promoted to Deputy Prime Minister. Mr Heng will continue as Finance Minister and Chairman of the Future Economy Council and National Research Foundation.
In a media statement and Facebook post, PM Lee said that both Deputy Prime Ministers Teo Chee Hean and Tharman Shanmugaratnam will remain in cabinet as Senior Ministers.

DPM Teo will also be Coordinating Minister for National Security, while DPM Tharman Shanmugaratnam will become Coordinating Minister for Social Policies. Mr Tharman will also advice PM Lee on economic policies. These changes will take effect on 1 May 2019.
PM Lee said,"The next generation leadership is taking shape, and progressively taking over from me and my older colleagues. The team is working closely together, building up public trust and confidence in their leadership."
In his Facebook post, DPM Tharman said, "Swee Keat is the best person to move up to become DPM and take over as PM during the next term of government. He has exceptional ability, mettle and the confidence of the 4G team."
Mr Tharman also said, "Our 4G leadership will have to keep their ears close to the ground, stay open to new ideas and initiatives, and keep evolving our strategies to keep our society inclusive and vibrant. So that they retain the trust of Singaporeans and lead the country with confidence.
Mr Teo in a separate post also congratulated Mr Heng, and remarked, "This is the Singapore way of ensuring smooth leadership transition, continuity and stability. Senior leaders make way in good time for the next generation, share their experience and help the next generation of leaders to succeed."

Heng Swee Keat's Facebook Post
Chan Chun Sing's Facebook Post