More MPs in Parliament

13 Mar 2020 < 1 min read


The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee recommended an increase in the number of elected Members of Parliament from 89 to 93 members.

In its report, there will be 14 Single-Member Constituency (SMCs) and 17 Group Representation Constituencies, and increase from 13 SMCs and 16 GRCs.

There will be 11 five-member GRCs, and six four-member GRCs.

A new 4 member Sengkang GRC will be created by merging the former Sengkang West, and Punggol East SMCs as well as parts Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.

Three SMCs have been taken off and replaced with four new single seats namely – Punggol West, Yio Chu Kang, Kebun Baru and also Marymount.

The committee’s recommendations continues the reform to reduce the average size of GRCs and create more SMCs .