Skip to main content

People’s Action Party pays tribute to retired Members of Parliament for their contributions

12 Jul 2022 2 min read

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

Secretary-General of the People’s Action Party Lee Hsien Loong hosted an appreciation dinner to honour the PAP Members of Parliament who retired in 2020 and to thank current MPs and branch chairpersons for their hard work and dedication in serving Singapore and Singaporeans.

At the event held at Parliament House, Prime Minister Lee paid tribute to the contributions and dedicated service of the twenty MPs who had retired at the last General Election. Among them are party stalwarts like Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, former Deputy Speaker of Parliament Charles Chong, as well as former Cabinet Ministers like Khaw Boon Wan, Lim Hng Kiang, Lim Swee Say, and Yaacob Ibrahim. Refer to Annex for the list of retired MPs.

Senior Minister of State for Finance and Transport and chairperson of the organising committee for the dinner Chee Hong Tat also paid tribute to the retired MPs and thanked them for their guidance to the new MPs.

During the appreciation dinner, Secretary-General Lee also presented valedictory letters to the retired MPs.

Refer to PM Lee’s speech and SMS Chee’s speech.


The MPs who retired in 2020 include (in alphabetical order):

  1. Ang Hin Kee (洪鼎基)
    Ang Mo Kio GRC (2 terms)
  2. Cedric Foo(符致镜)
    Pioneer SMC (4 terms)
  3. Charles Chong(张有福)
    Punggol East SMC (7 terms)
  4. Chia Shi-Lu (谢世儒)
    Tanjong Pagar GRC (2 terms)
  5. Fatimah Lateef(花蒂玛)
    Marine Parade GRC (3 terms)
  6. Goh Chok Tong(吴作栋)
    Marine Parade GRC (10 terms)
  7. Intan Azura Mokhtar*(殷丹)
    Ang Mo Kio GRC (2 terms)
  8. Khaw Boon Wan(许文远)
    Sembawang GRC (4 terms)
  9. Lee Bee Wah*(李美华)
    Nee Soon GRC (3 terms)
  10. Lee Yi Shyan(李奕贤)
    East Coast GRC (3 terms)
  11. Lily Neo* (梁莉莉)
    Jalan Besar GRC (5 terms)
  12. Lim Hng Kiang(林勋强)
    West Coast GRC (6 terms)
  13. Lim Swee Say(林瑞生)
    East Coast GRC (5 terms)
  14. Ong Teng Koon(王鼎昆)
    Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC (2 terms)
  15. Sam Tan*(陈振泉)
    Radin Mas SMC (3 terms)
  16. Teo Ho Pin (张俰宾)
    Bukit Panjang SMC (5 terms)
  17. Teo Ser Luck(张思乐)
    Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC (3 terms)
  18. Yaacob Ibrahim(雅国)
    Jalan Besar GRC (5 terms)
  19. Yee Chia Hsing (余家兴)
    Chua Chu Kang GRC (1 term)
  20. Zainal Sapari* (再纳)
    Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC (2 terms)

 *The retired MPs were unable to attend the dinner.

Image caption:
(From left to right) Teo Ser Luck, Lee Yi Shyan, Cedric Foo, Lim Swee Say, Teo Ho Pin, ESM Goh Chok Tong, Charles Chong, Lee Hsien Loong, Khaw Boon Wan, Yaacob Ibrahim, Chia Shi-Lu, Lim Hng Kiang, Fatimah Lateef, Ang Hin Kee, Ong Teng Koon and Yee Chia Hsing