21 Nov

Inaguration of the PAP at Victoria Memorial Hall. Dr Toh Chin Chye becomes PAP’s first Chairman

The Party had 14 founder members. They were Messrs: Lee Kuan Yew, Toh Chin Chye, Samad Ismail, Lee Gek Seng, Fong Swee Suan, Mofradi bin Haji Mohamed Noor, P Govindasamy, Ismail Rahim, A K Karuppiah, S Rajaratnam, C V Devan Nair, Tann Wee Keng, Tann Wee Tiong and Chan Chiaw Thor.

2 Apr 1955

First local elections held. PAP Secretary General Lee Kuan Yew contests Tanjong Pagar and wins with two others. Lee Kuan Yew becomes leader of the Opposition

May 1956

PAP takes part in the First All-Party Constitutional Mission to London, led by Chief Minister David Marshall

May 1957

PAP takes part in Second All-Party Constitutional Mission to London led by Chief Minister Lim Yew Hock

31 Aug 1957

Federation of Malaya becomes independent

Dec 1957

PAP wins 13 seats in the City Council election

May 1958

PAP takes part in Second All-Party Constitutional Mission to London. Constitution for a self-governing Singapore agreed

30 May 1959

PAP wins 43 out of 51 seats in general election under the new constitution

5 Jun 1959

Lee Kuan Yew sworn in as self-governing Singapore’s first Prime Minister.

Feb 1960

Housing and Development Board established

Jul 1960

People’s Association established

Jul 1961

PAP survives motion of confidence vote in Legislative Assembly

Aug 1961

Thirteen pro-communist PAP assemblymen broke off from PAP to form Barisan Sosialis

Sep 1961

Lee Kuan Yew gives series of radio talks, “Battle for Merger,” to expose communist conspiracy and to urge support for merger with Malaysia

1 Sep 1962

Singapore National Referendum on the issue of merger of Singapore with the Federation of Malaysia. Singaporeans vote for merger with Malaysia in referendum.

Feb 1963

Communist operatives and supporters detained under Operation Coldstore

31 Aug 1963

Singapore declares independence ahead of the formation of Malaysia

16 Sep 1963

Malaysia formed comprising Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak and Sabah. Indonesia mounts “Confrontation” against Malaysia

21 Jul 1964

Communal riots in Singapore

Sep 1964

Second outbreak of communal riots

Jul 1965

Malaysia decides Singapore should leave the Federation

9 Aug 1965

Singapore separates from Malaysia and becomes an independent nation


3 by-elections in January, March and November

  • PAP candidates were up against Barisan Sosialis candidates
  • PAP wins all three
7 Mar 1967

Mass resignations from Barisan Sosialis, triggers 1967 elections. PAP gains 5 constituencies

13 Apr 1968

PAP wins 84.4 percent of votes and all 58 seats in Parliament


1970 By-elections

  • ​Delta, Havelock, Kampong Kapor, Ulu Pandan and Whampoa
  • PAP wins all seats
2 Sep 1972

At the second General Elections for independent Singapore, PAP wins all 65 seats.

23 Dec 1976

For General Elections this year, 4 more seats were added in Parliament to accommodate Singapore’s growing population.


Two by-elections were held this year, at Radin Mas in May and Bukit Merah in July

10 Feb 1979

To renew Party ranks, by-election was at Anson, Geylang West, Mountbatten, Nee Soon, Potong Pasir, Sembawang, Telok Blangah

23 Dec 1980

For the 4th time in a row, the PAP wins all 75 seats for Parliament

8 Jan 1981

Ong Teng Cheong becomes PAP Chairman

31 Oct 1981

A by-election for Anson was held after incumbent MP stepped down.

It was the first time post-independence, that PAP lost a constituency to the opposition.

22 Dec 1984

For the first time since the 1963 General Elections, the PAP did not win all seats in a GE. It wins 77 of the 79 seats

27 Sep 1986

PAP Youth Wing (now known as Young PAP) was established

3 Sep 1988

Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) were introduced to ensure ethnic minority representation in Parliament

2 Jul 1989

PAP Women’s Wing inaugurated

Nov 1990

Lee Kuan Yew steps down as Prime Minister. Goh Chok Tong becomes Prime Minister

31 Aug 1991

Goh Chok Tong leads PAP as Secretary-General into the elections

  • PAP won 77 of the 81 seats in Parliament
19 Dec 1992

First GRC by-election

  • Marine Parade GRC
  • PAP wins 72.9%
1 Sep 1993

Tony Tan Keng Yam becomes PAP Chairman

2 Jan 1997

PAP secures tenth consecutive term in office, with 81 out of 83 seats in Parliament

3 Nov 2001

With the shortest campaigning period of 17 days, PAP secures 82 of 84 seats in Parliament

Aug 2004

Lee Hsien Loong becomes Prime Minister

3 Dec 2004

Lim Boon Heng becomes PAP Chairman

6 May 2006

Lee Hsien Loong leads PAP into the GE for the first time. PAP wins 66.6%

17 Apr 2011
  • YP 25th anniversary
  • Launch of Party Manifesto for GE2011: Securing our future together
7 May 2011

General Elections 2011

  • ​PAP seeking 13th consecutive term in office since 1959
  • PAP won with a majority of 60.1%
  • PAP lost their first GRC
1 Jun 2011

Khaw Boon Wan becomes PAP Chairman

27 May 2012

Hougang by-election, PAP lost.

26 Jan 2013

Punggol East by-election, PAP lost.

8 Dec 2013

PAP Seniors Group (PAPSG) is launched.

7 Nov 2014

People’s Action Party published a book entitled PAP60, Forward Together. It was launched on Nov 7 2014, at the Victoria Concert Hall

23 Mar 2015

Founding Secretary General and Prime Minister of Singapore, Mr Lee Kuan Yew passes away

11 Sep 2015

PAP secured 69.9% mandate from Singapore.

7 May 2016

Bukit Batok by-election. A win for PAP

23 Nov 2018

Gan Kim Yong becomes PAP Chairman

26 Nov 2022

Heng Swee Keat becomes PAP Chairman

15 May 2024

Lawrence Wong becomes Prime Minister