Skip to main content

PAP elects CEC, reaffirms commitment to partnering Singaporeans

08 Nov 2020 2 min read

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

The People’s Action Party elected the 36th PAP Central Executive Committee at its Party Conference today and reaffirmed the party’s commitment to partner every Singaporean now and for the future.

Secretary-General Lee Hsien Loong stated that the party will continue to put Singaporeans as its centre and be resolutely focused to make their lives better. He called on the more than 3,000 activists that had participated in-person and virtually from across Singapore to stay close to the ground, working hand-in-glove with Singaporeans to make a difference to our society.

Mr Lee said that in this time of crisis, it is vital to strengthen the symbiotic relationship between the party and the Labour Movement, so that they can work together to protect Singaporean workers and their families.

Mr Lee also reiterated that the People’s Action Party is a party of purpose, of conviction, of action and it has made life better for millions of Singaporeans.

“We will constantly pursue a more just and equal society and we are ever determined to walk alongside every Singaporean, striving towards a brighter future together.”

1st Assistant Secretary-General Heng Swee Keat said that the PAP Government must continue to govern on our values of honesty, meritocracy, multiracialism and self-reliance and the Party is here to secure Singapore’s long-term success. He quipped, “Yes, GE2020 matters very much. But, for us, SG100 and SG200 matter even more.”

He also stressed that to continue to earn the right to lead, the PAP must “win over the hearts and minds of our people. We must continue to reach out to all Singaporeans”.

At the conference, NTUC FairPrice donated $3 million worth of FairPrice vouchers to be  given to needy Singaporeans to help meet their daily needs.

NTUC Secretary-General Ng Chee Meng and Group Chief Executive Officer for FairPrice Group Seah Kian Peng presented the gift voucher to PAP Chairman Gan Kim Yong.

The Central Executive Committee members elected to chart the party’s path forward are as follows (in alphabetical order): Chan Chun Sing, Desmond Lee, Lawrence Wong, Lee Hsien Loong, Gan Kim Yong, Masagos Zulkifli, Grace Fu Hai Yien, Ong Ye Kung, Heng Swee Keat, Tan Chuan-Jin, K Shanmugam, Vivian Balakrishnan. Indranee Rajah and Josephine Teo were co-opted into the CEC.